link
Search Our Site

Navigation

Residency Guide


Need More Info?
Click Here!


Florida Divorce Guide

Florida Divorce Guide:
Divorce information and resources for families in divorce situations

Below are a list of links and resources if you are considering filing for divorce in Florida. The state of Florida has certain requirements to file a dissolution of marriage, especially when children are involved.

Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course (Online Class) - Required for parents filing for divorce in Florida.
Florida Divorce Class


Child Support Information

Divorce Records - Public Records Guide

Online Divorce - File for Divorce Online

Chapter 61 (Florida Statutes)
Dissolution of Marriage; Support; Custody

A divorce will not be granted by the state unless one of the following conditions is met:

  • The marriage is irretrievably broken
  • One of the parties is mentally incapacitated. Certain requirements for this condition are listed here under (1) b

Based on this evidence presented at a hearing, the court will place a petition for dissolution of marriage if there is no minor child from the marriage and if the responding party does not deny the marriage is irretrievably broken.

If there is a minor child or the other party denies that the marriage is irretrievably broken, the court may take other action. To learn more, see statue(2)b here

Includes the following and additional topics:

  • General Provisions
  • Residence Requirements
  • Alimony
  • Child Support
  • Definitions
  • Dissolution of Marriage
  • Equitable distribution of marital assets and liabilities
  • Distribution of retirement plans
  • Sale of marital home
  • Child custody, primary residence, visitation
  • Parenting course attendance

    All parties to a dissolution of marriage proceeding with minor children or a paternity action that involves issues of parental responsibility shall be required to complete the Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course prior to the entry by the court of a final judgment. The court may excuse a party from attending the parenting course, or from completing the course within the required time, for good cause.


Florida Divorce Requirements:
Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course


Florida Parenting Class Online (Click Here to Register)

The Florida Department of Children and Families approved this course.

Duval County

Regardless of this statewide approval, this online course is not currently accepted for divorces in Duval County.



You may take this course if you are a resident of Florida or if you are an out-of-state resident getting your divorce in Florida.

Florida Parenting Class Online is provided in association with the University of Continuing Education.

If you are going through a dissolution of marriage and you have minor children (under the age of 18), Florida law requires you to complete an approved 4-hour Parent Education and Family Stabilization course. This course is designed to educate, train and assist parents in ways to minimize the emotional impact on you and your children. Each parent must independently take and complete the course before the Court will grant the dissolution of marriage.

You may take this required course over the Internet from the comfort of your own home, or anywhere that you have access to the Internet. It is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our Internet system will permit you to take the 4-hour course in shorter increments at your own pace, avoiding the need to block out a half day at one time. This will free you from having to worry about child care, or having to fight traffic after a busy day at work to travel to a live class.

Florida Parenting Class Online
Course Registration Information




Related Information:

Child Support/Make a Payment (Click Here)

Child Support Services
Guidelines, payment status, brochures, frequently asked questions
Child Support Enforcement
Florida (Toll Free) 1-800-622-KIDS (5437)
1-305-530-2600 Miami-Dade County, 1-941-741-4039 Manatee County

See Above Also: Florida Statutes, Chapter 61


In addition, the State of Florida Disbursement Unit provides one central address for the collection and disbursement of child support payments in cases enforced by the Department of Revenue. Payments can be mailed to:

State of Florida Disbursement Unit
P. O. Box 8500
Tallahassee, FL 32314-8515
(Phone Toll Free): 1-877-769-0251 or locally at 201-0140 if you are calling from Tallahassee.


Legal Resources - State of Florida.com
Florida Statutes, Laws, Courts, Law Dictionary, U.S. (Federal) Code Search

About Us/ Disclaimer & Terms of Use
Privacy Policy/ Contact Us


Copyright © 2000-, State of Florida.com. All Rights Reserved.

"Florida Divorce Guide" is a servicemark of State of Florida.com. Providing information on divorce related issues in the State of Florida.

Resources