StateofFlorida.com is not affiliated with, owned, or operated by the State of Florida and is not endorsed or approved by the State of Florida. Visit MyFlorida.com

Florida Real Estate Education

To become a real estate agent in Florida, you must meet several requirements, including Real Estate Associate Requirements, Real Estate Broker Requirements, and Real Estate Instructor Requirements, depending on your field. You must also be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma.

Real Estate Associate Requirements:

  • Successfully Complete a Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC)-approved 63-hour pre-licensing classroom course
    • Course remains valid for 2 years after completion for licensure purposes
  • Submit an application and application fee as well as fingerprints to the state
  • Take and pass the state Real Estate Sales Associate Examination (you may subsequently pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a 30 grade or higher)
  • Activate License, of which there are two methods:
    • Complete the DBPR RE 11-Become Active - Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate Form
    • Once license number has been issued, a broker can activate the sales associate using his or her online account
  • Before the initial sales associate license expires, complete a FREC-approve post-licensing 45-hour sales associate course

Real Estate Broker Requirements:

First, you must have completed 24 months as an active real estate sales associate for five years before becoming a licensed broker or real estate sale associate broker before applying. If you claim experience from a jurisdiction other than Florida, indicate that in your application with a certification of your real estate license history, which cannot be 30 days older, from your current jurisdiction.

  • Complete 72-hour FREC-approved pre-licensing course for brokers
  • Submit an application and application fee as well as fingerprints to the state
  • Take and pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of 75 or higher
  • To activate the license, complete a DBPR RE 13 Broker Transaction form
  • Complete a 60-hour FREC-approved post-licensing course for brokers before initial broker license expires

Real Estate School Instructor Requirements:

  • Hold a valid, Florida broker's license
  • Hold a bachelor's degree in a business-related field
  • Pass an FREC-approved Instructor Examination
  • Complete a DBRP RE 6-Become Active-Real Estate Instructor form and submit it
  • Fulfill the continuing education requirement with at least 7-hours of classroom instruction that are FREC- prescribed regarding either instructional techniques or real estate
For more information, look at these Education & Real Estate Education Requirements offered by the Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Additional real estate regulation information can be found on our real estate page.

Residency Guide

Residency Guide

Need More Info?
Click Here!

Ads