StateofFlorida.com is not affiliated with, owned, or operated by the State of Florida and is not endorsed or approved by the State of Florida. Visit MyFlorida.com

How to Get Your Florida Driver's License

You must meet several requirements to obtain your Florida driver's license, officially known as a Class E Driver license:

  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Complete a drug and alcohol course
  • Pass a vision and hearing test
  • Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam
  • Pass the Class E Driving Skills Test
  • Provide identification and all required documents

If you are under 18, additional requirements apply:

  • You must hold a learner's permit for at least 12 months or until you turn 18, whichever comes first.
  • You cannot be convicted of any traffic violations within 12 months of the date you received your learner's permit. However, one moving violation will not disqualify you from earning your license if you complete a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course.
  • You must have 50 hours of driving experience, including at least 10 hours of night driving. Use the Learner's License Driving Log to keep track of your hours. You must provide a parental form attesting to your driving experience.

Complete a Drug and Alcohol Course

New drivers must complete a course that covers the dangers and legal consequences of driving under the influence of alcohol and illicit drugs. The course is also known as a Drug, Alcohol and Traffic Awareness (DATA) course or a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.

You can complete the four-hour DATA course online using your computer, laptop, tablet or smartphone.

If you have a learner's permit, you have already met the drug and alcohol course requirement. Also, you are not required to take the course if you have a current or previous driver's license from another state, country or jurisdiction.

Pass Vision and Hearing Tests

You must pass vision and hearing tests to get your driver's license. If you need to wear corrective lenses (contacts or glasses) or a hearing aid to pass the test, a restriction will be added to your license that requires you to always wear them while driving.

You can take the vision and hearing tests in person at a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) location.

Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam

Passing the Class E Knowledge Exam is another requirement for getting your Florida driver's license. It is the same exam as the learner's permit test, so you have already met this requirement if you earned your learner's permit.

The exam covers Florida traffic laws, traffic controls and safe driving practices. It is sometimes referred to as the written test, but it is multiple choice and there is no writing involved. You are required to get a score of at least 80 percent (40 out of 50 questions correct) to pass. The Official Florida Driver License Handbook contains everything you need to know to pass the test.

You are not required to take the exam if you can provide a valid driver's license from any of the following:

  • United States (including territories/possessions)
  • U.S. military
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Republic of China (Taiwan)
  • South Korea

If you hold a valid Canadian driver's license but don't wish to surrender it, then you must take the Class E Knowledge Exam. When you are issued your driver's license, you must surrender licenses from any other states or U.S. territories.

Pass the Florida Driving Test

The Florida driving test, also known as the Class E Driving Skills Test, is a behind-the-wheel driving test that must be supervised by a driving examiner, normally at a FLHSMV location.

You can schedule an appointment for your test using the FLHSMV Online Appointment Service and Information System (OASIS). You will need to arrive for the test with an insured vehicle that has a valid license plate. If the vehicle passes a safety inspection, you can proceed with the driving test.

The driving test covers the following skills:

  • Using proper driving posture
  • Backing up
  • Signaling and turning
  • Approaching a crossing
  • Staying in the proper lane
  • Following at a safe distance
  • Passing
  • Obeying traffic signals and stop signs
  • Stopping quickly
  • Observing the right-of-way
  • Performing a three-point turn
  • Straight-in parking
  • Parking on a grade

Refer to your driver's license handbook for more details on each driving maneuver.

You are exempt from the driving skills test if you can provide a valid driver's license from any of the following:

  • United States (including territories/possessions)
  • U.S. military
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Republic of China (Taiwan)
  • South Korea

If you have a Canadian driver's license and don't want to surrender it, then you are required to take the Class E Driving Skills Test.

Provide the Required Documents

You must bring the following documents to the FLHSMV location when you obtain your driver's license:

  • Proof of identification
  • Two proofs of residential address
  • Proof of social security number

Your proof of identification can be an original birth certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics, a state-issued copy of your birth certificate or a U.S. Passport. Hospital birth certificates and photocopies of your birth certificate are not accepted.

For your proof of residential address, you can provide a bill with your address or a school transcript from the current school year that lists your address. If you do not have these documents, you can submit a Certification of Address Form and provide two proofs of address for a parent, step parent, legal guardian or a person you live with.

Your proof of social security number can be your original Social Security card or a W-2 tax form with your Social Security number.

For a complete list of documents that you can use to prove your identity, visit the What to Bring page on the FLHSMV website. There, you can find detailed information on the required documents for U.S. citizens, immigrants, nonimmigrants and Canadians.

Additional Documents Required for Minors

If you are under the age of 18, you may need to provide additional documents, such as:

  • Parental Consent Form
  • Parent Proctoring Form
  • Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form

Minor children who are not married are required to provide a Parental Consent Form to prove they have permission to get a license. Those who took the Class E Knowledge Exam online must provide a Parent Proctoring Form, which needs to be filled out by a parent or legal guardian.

If you currently have a leaner's permit, you must present a Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form. This form confirms that you have at least 50 hours of required driving experience.

All the forms listed above must be signed in the presence of a FLHSMV driver's license examiner or a notary public.

Ads