is not affiliated with, owned, or operated by the State of Florida and is not endorsed or approved by the State of Florida. Visit

Florida Learner's Permit Requirements

To obtain a Florida learner's permit, also called a learner's license, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be 15 to 17 years old
  • Complete a four-hour drug and alcohol course
  • Pass vision and hearing tests
  • Pass the learner's permit test
  • Provide the required documents

Age Requirement

You must be between 15 and 18 years old to obtain a Florida learner's permit. If you are 18 or older, you should apply for a Class E driver's license.

Drug and Alcohol Course

All first-time drivers in Florida must complete a four-hour drug and alcohol course that covers traffic laws, the dangers of driving under the influence and a wide range of other important topics. This training may be called a Drug, Alcohol and Traffic Awareness (DATA) course or a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.

Sign up for the DATA Course at You can take the course, which is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), using an internet-connected computer, laptop, tablet or smartphone. You do not need to complete your training in one sitting. All online course providers will electronically report your course completion to the FLHSMV.

Vision and Hearing Tests

You are required to pass vision and hearing tests at a FLHSMV location to receive your learner's permit. But you do not need to have naturally perfect vision and hearing to get your permit. For example, you can wear glasses, contact lenses or hearing aids if you need them to pass the tests.

You can retake a failed test using a different hearing device or lenses with a stronger prescription. If you need to wear glasses, contacts or a hearing aid to pass the test, it will be noted on your license as a restriction. If you have a corrective lenses restriction, you must always wear glasses or contacts while driving.

Class E Knowledge Exam

New drivers seeking a learner's license must pass the Florida learner's permit test, officially known as the Class E Knowledge Exam. You can take the permit exam online at Alternatively, you can take the exam in person at a FLHSMV location or through a high school Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program.

The exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions covering Florida traffic laws, traffic controls and safe driving practices. You must get at least 40 of the 50 questions correct (80 percent) to pass.

Everything you need to know to pass the exam is covered in the Official Florida Driver License Handbook. To help prepare for the exam, you can enroll in a permit prep course or take a free practice test.

Required Documents

When you complete the exam and visit a FLHSMV location to obtain your permit, you are required to bring the following documents:

  • Proof of identification
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of residential address
  • FLHSMV parent proctoring form (when applicable)
  • FLHSMV parental consent form (when applicable)


You must provide a U.S. Passport, an original birth certificate or a state-issued certified copy of your birth certificate to prove your identity. Note: Hospital birth certificates and photocopies of your original birth certificate are not accepted.

Social Security Number

Bring your original Social Security card or a W-2 tax form that shows your Social Security number.

Proof of Address

You must provide two proofs of residential address. Acceptable documents that prove your address include bills in your name or a school transcript from the current school year.

You can fill out a Certification of Address form if you can only provide one proof of address. With this form, the second proof of address can be in the name of your parent, stepparent, legal guardian or the person you live with.

Parent Proctoring Form

If you took the learner's permit exam online, a parent or legal guardian must fill out the FLHSMV parent proctoring form. The form must be signed in the presence of a notary public or a driver's license examiner.

Parental Consent Form

Teens under 18 must provide a FLHSMV parental consent form to obtain their learner's permit. The form must be signed by a parent or legal guardian in the presence of a driver's license examiner or a notary public.

For information on other documents you can use to prove your identity, residential address or Social Security number, visit the What to Bring page on the FLHSMV website. The required documents may vary depending on your citizenship status.