is not affiliated with, owned, or operated by the State of Florida and is not endorsed or approved by the State of Florida. Visit

Florida First Time Drivers

Florida First Time Drivers
New Drivers in Florida

If you have never held a regular driver's license in any state, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course before applying for a driving permit (restricted driver license if you are under 18) in the State of Florida (Florida Statutes, 322.095).

Take the 4 hour class online at your convenience! By taking this course, you will learn about:

  • How alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to drive;
  • Laws and responsibilities;
  • Safe driving techniques; and
  • How to increase your awareness on our roadways.

Register Now

American Safety Council

Save time and avoid waiting in line at the Driver's License Office.  Students taking this online course are now eligible to take their driving permit exam online also!

You may take your driving permit exam immediately or anytime after completing the course. The cost for the online exam is $20 (in addition to the course fee). Simply select the online exam option which is available at the end of the course or login again anytime after completing the course to take your exam.

Take your exam online rather than waiting in line
at the local Driver's License Office!